Login Register

Some exciting finishes in first round of cup

By South Wales Evening Post  |  Posted: November 15, 2012

Comments (0)

THE Tudor Jones Cup in the Swansea & District Table Tennis League got under way with some exciting finishes.

Third division Penyrheol D looked home and dry with their large handicap against premier division side Cam Gears A.

They were leading 9-6 with two singles to play before Ceri Higgon won his match 2-1 and Gareth Evans won his 2-0 to take the match to a deciding doubles encounter.

This proved equally exciting. Higgon and Evans eventually triumphed 2-0, with both games going to deuce, to give Cam Gears a 12-10 victory.

Penlan J made the most of their large handicap to lead premier division Carmarthen A 10-7 with two games left.

Then up stepped David Lloyd, winning 2-1, then Jason Peckham 2-0 to take the match to the deciding doubles. Penlan's Matthew Rees and James Lobb won 2-1 to give their side a 13-12 victory, Jason Peckham winning 6-1 for the beaten side.

Another close encounter saw Tata Port Talbot B score a 12-10 victory over Penlan H, the match decided on the doubles which Bill Haddon and Ross Jenkins won 2-0. Roy Towell won 6-1 for the losing side.

Penlan F narrowly beat Penlan R 11-9, with Mark Haymer winning 5-3 and Andy Coghlan 4-2.

Penlan S made good use of their handicap to beat Cam Gears C 13-8, Ya Xie winning 6-0 and Tiankun Wei 6-2.

Penlan K found their handicap too much when easily beaten 14-4 by Penlan M, Steffan Griffiths, Harry Langley and Rachel Stannett all contributing to their victory.

In the premier division, Mumbles A moved into second place after beating Penlan D 23-12, with Andrew Jones winning 9-0.

Penlan H beat Ammanford B 25-7 to go top of division one, with Larry Hursey winning 9-0.

Second-placed Penlan F defeated Penlan E 19-15 thanks to Manie Tang and Mark Haymer winning the doubles 3-0. Ben Mora won 9-1 for the beaten side.

Penlan G saw off Carmarthen D 23-17 thanks to Tony Holt, who won 9-2.

Division two saw Manselton Community Centre defeat Dillwyn Llewelyn A 21-17 despite Andrew James winning 9-4 for the losers.

The new leaders of division three are Penlan M after they beat Manselton Community Centre 20-12 thanks to Steffan Griffiths winning 9-0. Penlan P defeated Penlan R 27-11, Lydia John winning 9-1.

Read more from South Wales Evening Post

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters