Login Register

Wales stars Liam Williams and Josh Turnbull give Scarlets a big boost for Munster clash

By South Wales Evening Post  |  Posted: February 16, 2013

Liam Williams

Comments (0)

LIAM Williams and Josh Turnbull both return from Wales duty as the Scarlets look to boost their Pro12 play-off hopes tonight.

The West Wales region face Munster at Parc y Scarlets, and the inclusion of Williams and Turnbull is a major boost to their chances.

The Scarlets go into the clash with a renewed sense of optimism after two successive home wins, over Leicester in the LV= Cup and Connacht in the Pro12. But head coach Simon Easterby insists they need to step up a gear if they are to complete a seasonal double over the Irish province.

He said: "It's tight at the top of the table, so this game is a huge one for both sides as it's a chance to take points away from each other.

"It was good start last weekend, but there's still a lot of work to do and we have to back that up with a performance this weekend.

"I was pleased with how we reacted as a team after Connacht got that early try. We then took control in the second half and were pragmatic.

"There was still plenty we'll have to improve on to get a result against Munster this weekend."

Easterby again puts his faith in the young half-back partnership of Owen Williams and Aled Davies, though he has made three changes to the team that started against Connacht.

Liam Williams is on the wing, Gareth Maule comes in at centre and South African tight-head Jacob Adriaanse returns to the starting XV.

"We've not made many changes to the line-up that won against Connacht," added Easterby.

"The boys who worked hard deserve their chance again and it's important to try to get some continuity for this block of rugby."

Scarlets: G. Owen; L. Williams, G. Maule, A. Warren, A. Fenby; O. Williams, A. Davies; P. John, E. Phillips, J. Adriaanse, G. Earle, J. Synman, R. McCusker (capt), K. Murphy, J. Turnbull. Reps: K. Myhill, R. Jones, S. Lee, J. Ball, J. Edwards, G. Davies, A. Thomas N. Reynolds.

Munster: I. Keatley; D. Hurley, I. Dineen, J.J. Hanrahan, J. Murphy; R. O'Gara, D. Williams; W. du Preez, M. Sherry (capt), B.J. Botha; D. O'Callaghan, I. Nagle; C.J. Stander, T. O'Donnell, P. Butler. Reps: D. Varley, J. Ryan, S. Archer, B. Holland, S. Dougall, C. Sheridan, D. Barnes, C. Laulala.

Read more from South Wales Evening Post

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters