Login Register

Wales drawn with England and Australia for 2015 Rugby World Cup

By SWEP_DafP  |  Posted: December 03, 2012

Comments (0)

WALES have been drawn with hosts England and former champions Australia in the pool stages of the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

The other two sides in Pool A will be the play-off winners and qualifiers from Oceania 1, neither of which have been confirmed yet.

It is a daunting task for Wales, who slipped outside the top eight of the IRB world rankings following Saturday's 14-12 defeat to Australia.

That left them as third seeds, with England in the second pot and Australia included in Pool A as top seeds.

Scotland have been drawn alongside South Africa and Samoa in Pool B, while holders New Zealand will face Argentina and Tonga in Pool C. France, Italy and Ireland are all in Pool D.

The tournament begins on September 18, 2015, and the final will be held at Twickenham on October 31.

Read more from South Wales Evening Post

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters
  • jc205  |  December 03 2012, 11:30PM

    This is the best group that Wales could have been drawn in,,no fear of any of these teams, its 3 years away and we have 6 nation games to show how good we are.

    |   2
  • gorseboy  |  December 03 2012, 4:47PM

    Bring it on!The past 4 games are not an indication of the teams standing in world rugby.

    |   1