Login Register

Rally championship in new sponsorship deal

By South Wales Evening Post  |  Posted: December 29, 2012

Comments (0)

THE new local rally championship organised by Maesteg and District Motor Club has a sponsor.

Swansea motor parts supplier FMP is backing the championship, which will give its support to Wales Air Ambulance.

It will feature nine events throughout Wales and across the border.

The registration fee is £10 and includes M&DMC club membership and a cash prize fund.

It also includes a section for junior competitors.

Managing director Colin Thomas said: "The reformed Maesteg & District MC has given us the opportunity to help Welsh motorsport while supporting a cause which any one of us may need to call upon one day."

A club official added: "The challenge allows competitors to compete in both gravel and Tarmacadam events, and includes an innovative idea which will give co-drivers the opportunity to gain points by driving on one round if desired.

"We have many ideas on how to generate funds for the charity which will include a donation being paid directly from the club.

"People in the world of rallying are all too aware of the vital role the Air Ambulance charity plays and we are delighted to put together this series that helps in many ways."

Details of qualifying rounds will be released shortly.

Carmarthen Motor Club run their annual event at Pembrey on Sunday, renamed The West Wales Rally Spares Jaffa Stages in memory of Gareth Roberts, the local co-driver so sadly killed in Corsica earlier this year.

Gareth's brother Dai is seeded 20 on the event that now bears Gareth's nickname, and his girlfriend Holly will be co-driving the event sponsor Gareth Lloyd at number 12 in his Ford Escort RS2000.

Gareth's former driver Craig Breen wished to play some part in the occasion and arrangements have been made for him to drive a competitive course car, an Escort BDA from the West Wales Rally Spares stable.

Local crews always support the Carmarthen MC rally in vast numbers and this year is no exception.

Last year's winners Bryan Davies and Alun Lewis lead the capacity field away in their Gwendraeth Valley MC Mitsubishi Evo, with Peter Lloyd and Emma Todd at two in the Subaru Impreza WRC S14. They are ahead of Port Talbot MC's Bob Fowden, his Impreza co-driven by Jason Sugden.

Nigel Jones and Tracey Giddings run fourth in another Subaru, with Gwyndaf and Rhian Jenkins rounding off the top five in a Darrian T90.

The quality goes on, including Geoff Kitney in a Mitsubishi Evo, Phil Turner in a Subaru and Terry Brown back in a Ford Escort.

The competition starts at 9.45am tomorrow and runs through to 3pm.

Read more from South Wales Evening Post

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters