Login Register

Ospreys name team to face Dragons at Millennium Stadium

By South Wales Evening Post  |  Posted: April 18, 2014

Ospreys' Aaron Jarvis is set to make his 50th appearance for the region

Comments (0)

AARON Jarvis makes his 50th appearance for the Ospreys when they face the Dragons at the Millennium Stadium on Sunday (4.45).

Jarvis is again preferred to Wales prop Adam Jones on the tight-head, while Alun Wyn Jones and Ryan Jones team up at lock.

Tom Habberfield partners Dan Biggar at half-back, with Hanno Dirksen named on the left wing.

Head coach Steve Tandy said: “We picked up a crucial win at the Liberty last Friday against Leinster, but the reality of our position means that we have to hit those standards again on Sunday against the Dragons and then twice more again over the final few weeks of the season.

Related content

“We know that our play-off destiny is out of our hands but that doesn’t mean that we won’t be giving it everything to try to put pressure on the teams above us.

“We have to make sure that if one of them slip up, we are in a position to take full advantage. With some of the key games coming up featuring the top teams playing each other, points will be dropped, that’s inevitable.

“In terms of the Ospreys, whatever the outcome over the next few weeks it is crucial that we keep building momentum on and off the pitch.

“I keep saying it, but there is no going away from the fact that we have a young group of players, and there is some exciting talent coming through the ranks who are getting some invaluable experience at the top end of the game.”

Dragons: H. Amos, T. Prydie, P. Leach, J. Dixon, W. Harries, K. Burton, R. Rees; P. Price, T. Rhys Thomas, D. Bell, A. Coombs (capt), M. Screech, N. Talei, T. Faletau, L. Evans.

Reps: S. Parry, O. Evans, B. Douglas, C. Hill, N. Cudd, J. Evans, J. Tovey, T. Morgan.

Ospreys: R. Fussell; J. Hassler, J. Spratt, A. Beck, H. Dirksen; D. Biggar, T. Habberfield; D. Jones, S. Baldwin, A. Jarvis, R. Jones, A. W. Jones (capt), J. King, D. Baker, J. Tipuric. Reps: S. Otten, N. Smith, A. Jones, T. Ardron, S. Lewis, T. Tebaldi, S. Davies, A. Natoga.

Read more from South Wales Evening Post

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters