Login Register
 °

Complaint over S4C soap's badger story

By South Wales Evening Post  |  Posted: November 30, 2012

Comments (0)

THE Welsh Government has lodged an official complaint about an episode of Welsh soap Pobol y Cwm.

It claimed the programme shown on Wednesday breached BBC and Ofcom guidelines with a story in which characters protested about the lack of a badger cull to curb TB in cattle.

The formal complaint called for the repeat last night to be pulled and internet access to be prevented.

However, S4C said it would not cancel the show or take it down from online.

A Welsh Government spokesman said: "The BBC's editorial guidelines are clear that programmes are expected to ensure ''controversial subjects'' are treated with due impartiality in all their output. We do not believe this to be the case in this instance. The BBC's guidelines also state that organisations criticised in programming "should be given a "right of reply", that is, a fair opportunity to respond to the allegations." In this case, the Welsh Government was not."

Read more from South Wales Evening Post

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters
  • Neathboy234  |  November 30 2012, 11:09PM

    sochat you watch a lot of S4C, doubt it. Not British enough for your liking a bet

    |   1
  • Portal_Bot  |  November 30 2012, 8:41PM

    sochat wurr libdum wurr

    |   2
  • sochat  |  November 30 2012, 6:23PM

    Dan01 Now why dont you listen to neathboy234 he is the resident expert on all and sundry,llllllllllllllllllllllllllloooooooooooooooooooooooooollllllllllllllllllllllllllll The clown.

    |   -8
  • Neathboy234  |  November 30 2012, 4:06PM

    Dan01 it's not a case of sitting on the fence, it's a case that culling wouldn't cure the problem. Other infected badgers simply just move in. Vaccinating is an option, but sadly some say it cost too much. You know the saying some know the price of everything and the value of nothing

    |   -3
  • Neathboy234  |  November 30 2012, 4:04PM

    hacker_jack Million of framers grow food, i'd imagine there is profit in that wouldn't u. What annoys me is when the poor farmer becomes all emotional when his cattle have to be put down, fact is they are only there to be slaughtered at a time of the farmers choosing

    |   -2
  • Dan01  |  November 30 2012, 4:02PM

    williamwaun, who do you mean, the badgers? I don't think NHS can help them! Joking aside, I presume you mean WG. But WG is effectively our NHS, it funds it, is supposed to monitor it, and to make sure that it is fit for purpose.

    |   -3
  • williamwaun  |  November 30 2012, 3:47PM

    Shame they don't lodge a complaint on the state of our health service.

    |   -2
  • Dan01  |  November 30 2012, 3:40PM

    Neathboy234, what I am saying is that WG has to date shown no backbone since Carwyn has been in charge on almost any topic, and this issue is a classic example of sitting on the fence in case they do the wrong thing and upset a lot of people,- afraid of being unpopular. They can't expect to please all of the people all of the time. That isn't why they were elected. Why wait for England? They need to assess how this issue is affecting welsh farmers, and decide what they are going to do about it. And the argument that badgers were here before cows is completely absurd!

    |   -1
  • hacker_jack  |  November 30 2012, 2:59PM

    Neathboy, if there is no profit in farming then it will cease to be (and the cows would never have been born), given what we are going through right now at TATA I would have thought that much you could understand. Phil, there is plenty of research going on to try to eradicate the disease, but this is not an instant fix and until results are produced then this is the only method available.

    |   -3
  • Neathboy234  |  November 30 2012, 2:19PM

    Dan01 so what are u saying poor badgers can catch TB off cattle, i take it works both ways. And since there are many more cattle than badgers their number will have to be reduced. Taking into account that badgers are native to this country and cattle have been introduced. Best thing to do i wait until we see what happens in England, I'm sure Cadno the fox can wait until then

    |   -2

      YOUR COMMENTS AWAITING MODERATION

       
       
       

      MORE NEWS HEADLINES