Login Register

Big day as motor club runs its first special stage rally

By South Wales Evening Post  |  Posted: November 10, 2012

Comments (0)

AMMANFORD Motor Club makes a first foray into special stage rallying as an organising body tomorrow.

This auspicious event moves the local club up a rung on the motorsport ladder as they present a 45-mile competition over ten special stages within the confines of the Carmarthen Showground that hosts the AMC Rally Stages.

The event has clearly been well received, with a full entry of 60 cars placed with the organisers barely a week after the announcement of the rally, and a reserve entry list nearing 30 hopefuls achieved not long after that.

A live phone-in took place last evening on Radio Cymru, featuring interviews with both organisers and competitors.

The first car is due to start at 8.30 tomorrow morning, with the final stage of the rally scheduled for approximately 3pm.

Spectators are welcome at the event, with an entrance fee of £10 per vehicle and all occupants, and all prospective viewers are requested to access the rally via the park and ride facility at the Showground.

Spectators will have a dedicated viewing area where they will able to see the majority of the stages from the one location, but organisers specify that due to restrictions imposed for safety reasons by the venue, viewing is not permitted in any other area within the Showground.

The full co-operation of visitors is essential for the successful running of the event and future usage by motorsport.

The club meets every other Tuesday at Penybanc RFC in Penybanc, near Ammanford, and organises two road events, the Mel Harries Memorial Rally and a novice rally.

For this weekend's venture the club has received much appreciated support from other Welsh clubs, including PTMC's Alan Stoneman, who acts as clerk of the course, and the effective results service provided by Swansea's Gethin Rees, in addition to the many marshals from motor clubs from the surrounding area.

The top ten seeded entries include a number of hot prospects for the win.

The field is led away by Simon Mauger and James Morgan, though they have yet to announce the make of car they will drive, with Nigel Gibbard and David Jones wheeling out a Darrian T90, the agile and powerful Welsh-built sports car perhaps ideal for the tight stages in the Showground.

Third are Robert and Laura Tout, no strangers to winning ways, their four-wheel drive Mitsubishi Evo9 another potential winner, especially if rain makes the going slippery.

West Walian ace Graham Hollis teams up with Alan Jones. These Ford Escort Mk2 men are always a threat and again a winning combination, running ahead of Nigel Jones and Tracey Giddings in a Subaru Impreza STi.

Gwyndaf Jenkins and Paul Williams drive another Darrian T90, Jason Davies and Louise Davies drive in another Ford Escort Mk2, as do Carwyn and Steff Evans, and Richard Lewis and Chris Walton.

The top ten is completed by yet another Escort, this time a mighty V8-powered version with Simon Mansell at the wheel and Gareth Wilcox having the task of guiding the charger through the twists and turns of the Showground.

roger gale

Read more from South Wales Evening Post

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters